Friday proclaimed Ivy Tech Community College Day in Monroe County

March 12, 2013

Friday proclaimed Ivy Tech Community College Day in Monroe County

In celebration of Ivy Tech’s 50 years of changing lives in Indiana, the Monroe County Board of Commissioners has proclaimed the college’s Founders Day of Friday, March 15, 2013 as Ivy Tech Community College Day in Monroe County.

It was March 15, 1963 when the General Assembly created Indiana Vocational Technical College and appropriated $50,000 for its development. Now, Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest post-secondary institution with almost 200,000 students both online and on 30 campuses in 14 regions all over the state of Indiana.

Additionally, Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus ( is celebrating its 10th year in its main campus building at 200 Daniels Way on the west side of Bloomington, having opened its doors for Fall semester 2002.

In the past ten years, Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus has grown from serving 2,600 students in 2002 to 6,200 students served in 2012. In the same time, the regional campus has acquired the Ivy Tech John Waldron Arts Center in downtown Bloomington, built the Indiana Center for the Life Sciences on its main campus, and established three Centers – the Gayle and Bill Cook Center for Entrepreneurship, the Center for Lifelong Learning, and the Center for Civic Engagement.

Ivy Tech’s Bloomington campus serves Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Morgan, Orange, and Owen counties.

For more information about Ivy Tech’s 50years of changing lives, and opportunities to celebrate with us, visit:

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College ( is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.