Ivy Tech to award honorary degrees at May 17 commencement


Ivy Tech to award honorary degrees at May 17 commencement

By Mike Leonard
331-4368 | mleonard@heraldt.com
May 6, 2013

Ivy Tech Community College’s Bloomington campus has announced its honorary degree recipients for this spring’s commencement ceremonies.

The four recipients of honorary associate’s degrees will be: former state Sen. Vi Simpson, former Indiana first lady Judy O’Bannon, Indiana University football great George Taliaferro and Judge Viola Taliaferro.

“Ivy Tech Community College, systemwide, plans to award honorary associate degrees to 50 individuals around the state who have made significant contributions to community service,” Chancellor John Whikehart said in a prepared statement.

Ivy Tech’s commencement ceremonies will take place at 6 p.m. on May 17 at the IU Auditorium. This year’s student speaker is Daniel Stec.

The campus also will present a distinguished alumni award to Elizabeth Dryer, CPA, CGMA, class of 1982. She is vice president, controller and chief accounting officer for Hillenbrand Inc.

Bloomington’s Gospel Gurlz will be the featured musical ensemble.

Judy O'Bannon
Judy O’Bannon
Vi Simpson
Vi Simpson

Vi Taliaferro
Vi Taliaferro

George Taliaferro
George Taliaferro

Copyright: HeraldTimesOnline.com 2013