Honor Society inducts 48 Ivy Tech Bloomington students


BLOOMINGTON – The Alpha Rho Sigma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society of Two-Year Colleges inducted new members from Ivy Tech Bloomington on Tuesday, Nov. 27. To earn membership, students must achieve a 3.5 grade point average and have completed at least 12 hours of coursework in an associate degree program. The honor society provides leadership, community service, and scholarship opportunities to its members.

Students Kaitie Paridee, Olivia Thurmond, and Mackenzie Melvin led the ceremony. Paridee is vice president of the PTK chapter, Thurmond is membership chair, and Melvin is scholarship chair.

Bloomington Chancellor Jennie Vaughan gave the welcoming speech to new members. Vaughan serves as Indiana’s regional ambassador of PTK. Vaughan encouraged students to think of their membership as not only an honor, but an opportunity to engage in the honor society.

Student Rob Parab, vice president of the Indiana South region of the PTK chapter, also spoke. Parab encouraged students to “grow orthogonally,” and learn from one another.

Dr. Steve Acree, keynote speaker and Ivy Tech adjunct instructor, gave examples of people in his life who continually inspire his personal growth. Acree encouraged students to not only strive to reach their goals, but to surpass them.